Asian Games : New captain for India men’s cricket team

The 19th edition of the Asian Games will take place in Hangzhou, China from September 19 to October 8 this year. Cricket was last played in 2014 in the Asian Games when India did not participate. Earlier this month, the BCCI announced that both the Indian men’s and women’s cricket teams will take part in the Asian Games The men’s cricket competition will take place from 28th September to 8th October in T20 format. 

BCCI announced India’s 15 member squad along with five standby players for the upcoming multi-sporting event. Young Ruturaj Gaikwad has been appointed as the captain of the Indian men’s squad. India named the young group of players for the competition including Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma and Rinku Singh. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad. BCCI appointed Ruturaj Gaikwad as Indian team captain for upcoming Asian Games.
Ruturaj Gaikwad (Credit - BCCIofficial)

Since the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup is scheduled to start on October 5 in India, just two days before the conclusion of the Asian Games cricket competition, BCCI have decided to send a second men’s side in Hangzhou.

Rinku Singh, who showcased his power-hitting and finishing abilities in the IPL this year, earned a maiden call-up. Wicket-keeper Jitesh Sharma returns to the T20 squad after being left out of the West Indies tour. Prabhsimran Singh is the other wicket-keeping option in the 15 members squad. Rahul Tripathi, Shivam Dube and Washington Sundar also return to the T20 side for the Asian Games. 

The most notable absentee from the squad is Shikhar Dhawan. There were reports that Dhawan might be recalled to lead the side in the absence of the regular names, but he has not been picked. 

The Indian team will be led by CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad, marking a significant milestone in his cricketing career. He will lead the team with his strategic skill and batting expertise. After the announcement Ruturaj said in a video shared by the BCCI - “Really thankful for the opportunity by the BCCI and the management and the selectors. Playing for India itself is a proud feeling and leading the side in such a big event would be a great opportunity for me. He concluded by saying that -”The dream would be to win the gold medal, stand on the podium and sing the national anthem for the country”.

India’s squad for Asian Games -

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (Wicket-Keeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Dube, Prabhsmiran Singh (Wicket-Keeper).

Standby Players - Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan.

The squad features a mix of incredible emerging talents in Indian Cricket. This will be a great opportunity for every member in the squad to help the team win a gold medal at such a big event.

Cover Credit - BCCIofficial

Leave a Reply