FIFA WC 2022 | Interesting facts about FIFA World Cup 2022 final

Curtains will be dropped on the FIFA World Cup 2022 as France and Argentina go head-to-head in the showdown final on Sunday (December 18) at the Lusail Stadium in Lusail. 

Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe will be the center of attraction in the final as both will battle for the supremacy of world football. So, keeping a close eye on big names and the occasion here are some of the interesting facts about the FIFA World Cup 2022 final.

60 years since World Cup was last defended

Not since 1962 has the World Cup been retained by the defending champion as every occasion has seen a new champion being crowned. In the last 60 years, no team has won the World Cup title in back-to-back editions as France look to break the jinx of champions. Since 1962, France have become just the third team after Argentina and Brazil to reach the World Cup final as defending champions.

Argentina’s World Cup wait

Sunday’s final will represent a glorious opportunity for Argentina to end their 36-year drought to win a World Cup. Diego Maradona inspired Argentina to the 1986 FIFA World Cup title and since then it remains the last big achievement for the national team at the global level. A win on Sunday at the Lusail Stadium should see him bring that drought to an end while it will also cement Lionel Messi’s legacy as the greatest football player of all time.

Bayern Munich and Inter Milan’s legacy continues

While there have been various traditions surrounding the FIFA World Cup final, one interesting fact noteworthy is that the two football giants have always had a representation in the final for the last 40 years. Bayern Munich and Inter Milan have had at least one representative in the final since the 1982 showpiece and this edition is no exception. Dayot Upamecano and Lautaro Martínez of Bayern Munich and Inter Milan respectively will carry the flag in Sunday’s final for the two giant football clubs.

Only one World Cup hat-trick final

While several facts will be brought into the limelight, it is worth noting that Sir Geoffrey Hurst of England remains the only player to score a hat-trick in the final of the World Cup. His hat trick in the 1966 final against West Germany still goes down as the only one to be witnessed so far. A hat-trick on Sunday from either side could bring an end to another big World Cup drought that has lasted 56 years.

Leave a Reply