Grand Slam winners other than Nadal, Federer, Djokovic in last 10 years

Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic have dominated Grand Slams in the 21st century. They have shared most of the Grand Slams in the last decade. 

In fact, out of 40 majors in the last 10 years (2009 to 2019), the trio have won all but eight titles. There have been four players who have won Grand Slams other than these top three players in the last 10 years.

Here’s the list (from 2009 to 2019).

Andy Murray - 3 in last 10 years

2013 and 2016 Wimbledon and 2012 US Open 

Murray stole the thunder from Djokovic twice in Grand Slam finals in the last decade. He first defeated Djokovic in 2012 US Open in a thrilling five setter. 

The two played the second longest US Open men’s final. It lasted 4 hours and 54 minutes. 

After winning the first two sets, Murray lost the next two, but came out strongly to beat Djokovic in 5th set. Murray defeated Djokovic 7–6, 7–5, 2–6, 3–6, 6–2. In 2013 Wimbledon, he got one better at Djokovic, defeating him in straight sets 6–4, 7–5, 6–4 in the final. 

Murray won his third Grand Slam in 2016 Wimbledon, beating Milos Raonic 6–4, 7–6, 7–6 in the final.

Stan Wawrinka - 3 in last 10 years

One US Open, One French Open, one Australian Open

Wawrinka would have been a great tennis player if he was not playing during the same time as the three greats. 

He has made just four final appearances in Grand Slams in the last 10 years, winning three, and losing just one. He defeated Nadal 6–3, 6–2, 3–6, 6–3 in 2014 Australian Open to win his first Grand Slam. 

The Swiss won the 2015 French Open, defeating Djokovic 4–6, 6–4, 6–3, 6–4 in the final. He defeated Djokovic 6–7, 6–4, 7–5, 6–3 again next year in 2016 US Open final.

Juan Martin Del Potro and Marin Cilic  

One US Open each

The two are among four players other than Federer, Nadal and Djokovic to have won US Open titles in the last 10 years. 

The other two being Murray, and Wawrinka. Del Potro won his first and only Grand Slam beating Federer 3–6, 7–6, 4–6, 7–6, 6–2 in 2009 US Open final. 

Cilic won his first and only Grand Slam in 2014 US Open, beating Kei Nishikori in straight sets 6–3, 6–3, 6–3 in the final.

Photo courtesy: Andy Murray's Facebook page

Leave a Reply