IND vs WI 2023 : India’s squad for T20I announced

India cricket team is set to play a multi-format bilateral series against West Indies from 12th July. The BCCI already announced the Test and ODI squad. The senior Men’s Selection Committee recently picked India’s squad for the upcoming T20 series against the Windies. The T20 series will be played in the Caribbean Islands and in Florida, USA. 

Senior batters Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have not been included in the 15 member T20 squad once again. Youngsters Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma have earned a maiden call-up to India’s T20I squad series against WI after their outstanding performance in the IPL this season. Hardik Pandya will continue to lead the side in the five matches while Surya Kumar Yadav will be the Vice-Captain. 

Hardik Pandya. Pandya will lead the T20 side against the West Indies.
Hardik Pandya Captain for T20 series (Credit - BCCIofficial)

The Ajit Agarkar led selection panel has decided to change India’s approach in T20. The selectors have brought back Sanju Samson and Ravi Bishnoi into the side. Despite speculations that his brilliant show in the IPL 2023 could earn him a place in the T20I team, Rinku Singh does not feature in the list. After running out of favor since September 2022, leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi returned to the side to support the spin department along with Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav, who made a comeback after missing out on the New Zealand series. 

Here is the complete squad of India for T20I series against West Indies

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Surya Kumar Yadav (Vice-Captain), Ishan Kishan (Wicket-Keeper), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson (Wicket-Keeper), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar

Cover Credit - BCCIofficial

Leave a Reply