India’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Announced

As the anticipation for the T20 World Cup reaches a fever pitch, the Indian cricket team stands poised as a major contender. Their rich history in T20 cricket, boasting past achievements and a passionate fan base, have raised high expectations for their performance. This year's squad is composed of experienced veterans and promising young talent, each with the potential to make significant contributions.

India’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Announced
Credit - ICC Official

India will kick-off their World Cup campaign against Ireland on June 05, 2024 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York, followed by the marquee clash against Pakistan on June 09, 2024 at the same venue. India will then play USA and Canada on June 12 and 15 respectively.

The Senior Selection Committee on Tuesday picked India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be hosted in the West Indies and USA.

Rohit Sharma will lead India’s quest for the long-awaited glory as BCCI announced their squad. There were no surprises in the selection of the batters, with Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav all expected to shore up the top order alongside captain Rohit.

Prior to the announcement, speculation circled around the wicket keeper selection, with numerous contenders vying for the role. Ultimately, India has entrusted Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson with the gloves. This will mark the return of Pant to international cricket for the first time since a near-fatal accident in December 2022 that kept him on the sidelines for more than a year.

Shivam Dube’s IPL form made it difficult for him to be left out as he kept his place in the squad after featuring in the recent T20I series against Afghanistan. India have opted for a spin-heavy bowling lineup consisting of Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal while the pace battery will be led by Jasprit Bumrah with the support of Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj and vice-captain Hardik Pandya.

Shubman Gill and Rinku Singh only find a place amongst the reserves along with pacers Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan. Meanwhile, KL Rahul, who played in India's last two T20 World Cup campaigns (2021 and 2022), is a significant missing name in India's squad.

Complete India's squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

India’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Announced
Credit - BCCI Official

15-member squad: Rohit Sharma(Captain), Hardik Pandya(Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(wk), Sanju Samson(wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

India are placed in Group A of the tournament alongside arch-rivals Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and co-hosts USA.

Cover Credits - BCCI Official

Leave a Reply