Alexander Zverev thrown out of the Mexican open!

World number three, Alexander Zverev, was thrown out of the Mexican Open after he was seen hitting the chair umpire with his racket, which was "unsportsmanlike conduct" according to the authority.

Zverev was seen arguing with the umpire before hitting him during the decisive tie-break as he and his partner Marcelo Melo lost 6-2 4-6 10-6 to Lloyd Glasspool and Harri Heliovaara.

However, the 24-year-old later apologised after acknowledging his behaviour and calling it "unacceptable".

ATP released a statement and said, "Due to unsportsmanlike conduct at the conclusion of his doubles match on Tuesday night, Alexander Zverev has been withdrawn from the tournament in Acapulco,"

Zverev took to social media and said he had apologised privately to the umpire Alessandro Germani, as what he did was very disappointing.

"As you know, I leave everything on the court. But, unfortunately, yesterday, I left too much," he said.

"I am going to take the coming days to reflect - on my actions and how I can ensure that it will not happen again."

Many top tennis players condemned his actions and said "dangerous and reckless", Britain's Andy Murray. While Novak Djokovic also added the decision to disqualify Zverev was correct.

The incident happened when Zverev thought the ball was incorrectly called out during the tie-break, and he began shouting at the umpire. 

This frustrated the 24-year-old German, which led to him becoming violent with the umpire. Zverev hit the racket on the chair and came close to hitting the umpire's foot at one point.

ATP has also investigated Alexander Zverev over allegations that he has abused his former girlfriend, despite repeatedly denying the claim.

Subsequently, ATP made their final decision and handed him a $40,000 (£30,000) fine. He was first fined $20,000 each for verbal abuse and unsportsmanlike conduct. Which is the maximum amount ATP can fine.

He can be labelled with more sanctions when the ATP investigates further. Along with fines and loss of money, the 24-year-old has been forfeited from all the ATP rankings points from the tournament in Acapulco.

However, there have been many similar incidents have happened in tennis due to the umpire's wrong decision. Sometimes, players throw the racket on the floor in anger, while some confront the umpire in rage.

One of the horrific incidents was when the umpire was hit in the eye and had to undergo eye treatment. In 2017, the umpire was hit unintentionally in the eye by a ball from Canada's Denis Shapovalov during a Davis Cup tie with Great Britain.

Shapovalov was thrown out of the tournament and was fined $7,000. Subsequently, he apologised. 

Featured Image Credits:

Leave a Reply