FIFA WC 2022 | Top contenders to win the Golden boot

The 2022 FIFA World Cup has entered the knockout phase, and one of the top honors will be competing for the coveted golden boot, which will be awarded to the player who scores the most goals in the tournament.

In the case of a tie for goals scored, the number of assists by a player is considered. If two players are tied on both counts, the winner is determined by the player who played the fewest minutes.

England captain Harry Kane won the 2018 golden boot, even though England didn’t win the World Cup. He scored six goals and led his team to the semi-finals. Below is a list of players who are in line to win the World Cup:

Kylian Mbappe (France): 5 goals

The 23-year-old mercurial opened his account against Australia in a Group D match. Later, he scored two goals against Denmark, where they booked their place in the knockout round. Against Tunisia, he didn’t score as the minnows caused an upset over the World Cup champions.

Against Poland in the knockout round, Mbappe scored two goals late to make it 3-1.

Alvaro Mortata (Spain): 3 goals

The Atletico Madrid striker scored in all three of Spain’s Group E games, including one off the bench against 2014 World Cup champions Germany.

Mortata played his part in Spain's 7-0 demolition of Costa Rica, where he scored Spain’s fifth goal.

He put Spain ahead against Japan in their final group game. However, the 2010 champions were defeated by the darlings of Japan.

Marcus Rashford (England): 3 goals

Marcus enjoyed a dream start to his World Cup campaign in Qatar.

Rashford's place in Gareth Southgate’s lineup was uncertain due to his form and fitness, but Manchester United took a leap in the golden boot standings after he scored twice against Gareth Bale's Wales.

In the 6-2 demolition of Iran, along with Marcus' teammates, Jude Bellingham, Saka ( who scored two times), Jack Grealish, and Raheem Sterling, were on the scoresheet.

Against Senegal, Rashford was on the bench. Saka started in his place of him, and he scored to go level with Rashford. Despite Rashford replacing Saka, he couldn’t get on the scoresheet.

Cody Gakpo (Netherlands): 3 goals

The Dutch forward was able to find the net in all the matches of Group A, where the Netherlands finished top of the group.

Gakpo, however, was unable to add to his tally against the USA, where Depay, Dumfries, and Blind scored.

On the club front, Gakpo has been rumored to join Manchester United, who will bring in someone to replace the departed Cristiano Ronaldo, who left on a sour note.

Leo Messi (Argentina): 3 goals

The phenom Leo Messi is most likely playing his last World Cup at 35 years of age. In the opener against Saudi Arabia, he scored from a spot kick, but they suffered a shock defeat at the hands of the Saudis, who triumphed 2-1.

However, Argentina won 2-0 against Mexico, with Messi scoring and assisting Enzo Fernandes to score.

Messi also scored against Australia, where he let a low drill shot past the keeper, hence scoring his 94th international goal.

The seven-time Ballon d'Or winner has enjoyed a trophy-laden career at the club level, and his fans around the world are hoping he can finally help his country win the World Cup, which has eluded him so many times.

Richarlison(Brazil): 3 goals

Richarlson is the new entry to the list. He scored against Serbia, in Brazil's opening match in Group H. In the two other matches, he drew blank. However, against South Korea, in the Quarter Finals, he scored one, which was assisted by Thiago Silva. In that match, Neymar Jr, Vinicius Jr, and Paqueta also scored, as Brazil cruised past South Korea.

Bruno Fernandes (Portugal): 2 goals

Bruno Fernandes stepped out of Cristiano Ronaldo’s shadow by scoring two goals against   Uruguay. He also assisted on two goals in the 3-2 win over Ghana.

Let us know who you think will win the prestigious award. Do let us know your feedback in the comments and stay tuned with Sportco for all the latest news & updates.

Leave a Reply