IND vs ENG: Harry Brook withdraws from Test series against India, Dan Lawrence to replace him

England’s young batting sensation Harry Brook will miss the complete five-match Test series against India starting on 25th January. The 24-year-old English batter has returned home “with immediate effect for personal reasons,” as mentioned in a statement released by England and Wales Cricket Board on Sunday. 

England's Harry Brook withdraws from Test series against India.
Harry Brook (Credit - ECB Official)

“Harry Brook is set to return home with immediate effect for personal reasons from the England Men’s Test tour of India. He will not be returning to India. The Brook family respectfully requests privacy during this time. In light of this, ECB and the family kindly request the media and the public to respect their wish for privacy and refrain from intruding on their private space,” read the statement.

Brook had travelled to Abu Dhabi with the team for a preparatory camp ahead of the series. 

Middle-order batter Dan Lawrence has been named as a replacement for Harry Brook in the England squad for the upcoming five-Test series in India.

Dan Lawrence has been named as replacement for Harry Brook.
Dan Lawrence (Credit - ECB Official)

“Surrey’s Dan Lawrence to join the England Men's Test squad in the next 24 hours,” said a post from England cricket on its social media accounts.

The 26-year-old middle-order batter, Lawrence has played 11 Tests so far amassing 551 runs at an average of 29 including four half-centuries. He has also claimed three wickets with his part-time off-spin. Lawrence was featured thrice during England’s tour of India in 2021.

Lawrence has not been included in England Lion’s ongoing series against India ‘A’ in Ahmedabad.

This time Ben Stokes will captain a new-look England Test team for the series. The first Test of the series will be played in Hyderabad from January 25 while the fifth and final Test will be held in Dharamshala and the series will conclude on March 11.

England’s Test squad for India tour:

Ben Stokes(c), Rehan Ahmed, James Anderson, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Shoaib Bashir, Dan Lawrence, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Tom Hartley, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root and Mark Wood. 

Leave a Reply