The greatest rugby players of all time

Rugby is one of the popular sports in the world. It is quite popular in New Zealand, Australia and England. Here’s the list of the greatest rugby players of all time.

Richie McCaw, New Zealand

The retired Kiwi rugby union player has won two Rugby World Cups as captain in 2011 and 2015. Richie McCaw has earned 148 test caps in rugby union and holds the record of being the most capped player in the history of this league. He shares the joint record of most appearances in World Cup with Jason Leonard. He was known for his athleticism, leadership and could talk referees to make decision in his team’s favour. He was also named rugby player of the year in 2006, 2009 and 2010. 

Brian O'Driscoll, Ireland

O'Driscoll has played 141 test matches to be ranked fourth in the list of most-capped player in the history of rugby union. He captained Ireland national team from 2003 to 2012. He also played 8 tests for the British and Lions. He is the highest try scorer in the history of Irish rugby. He is considered the best outside center in the history of the sport.

David Campese, Australia

The Australian legend was known for his trademark ‘Goose step’, a hitch-kick motion to avoid tackles from the opponents. He was named the player of the tournament in Australia’s 1991 World Cup-winning campaign. He earned 101 caps for Australia and scored 315 points. He also earned 56 caps for New South Wales, scoring 114 points. In 2007, he was inducted into Australian Rugby Union Hall of Fame.

Martin Johnson

He is considered one of the greatest rugby players to have played for England. He led England to victory in the 2003 rugby World Cup. He also captained his club team, Leicester Tigers, other than England, in his playing career that lasted 16 seasons. He is said to be one of the greatest locks to have played the sport. 

He earned 84 caps for England, scoring 10 points. He also earned 362 caps for Leicester, scoring 90 points. He was also the manager of England rugby team from 2008 to 2011. Under his tenure, England won the Six Nations in 2011.

Photo of Richie McCaw

Photo courtesy: Richie McCaw's Facebook page

Leave a Reply