Groups for field hockey at Tokyo Olympics announced

The groups for both men’s and women’s hockey at the Tokyo Olympics have been announced by the Federation of International Hockey governing body on Saturday. 

Pool B will be competitive as it features Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Canada and South Africa.

India’s road in the 2020 Olympics looks tough as they have been clubbed with defending champions Argentina, Australia, Spain, New Zealand and hosts Japan.

India hockey
Credits: Times of India

In the women’s section, the India are placed with defending champions Great Britain, Netherlands, Germany, Ireland and South Africa in Pool A. 

Indian women’s team made it to the Tokyo Olympics after a 6-5 aggregate win in the Olympic qualifiers this month. 

Pool B comprises of Australia, Argentina, New Zealand, Spain, China and Japan.

The 2020 Tokyo Olympics hockey tournaments will be held in the brand new Oi Hockey Stadium from 25th July to 7th August. The match schedule for the tournament will be announced later. 

In the men’s category, Japan qualified directly for the Tokyo Olympics by winning the gold at the 2018 Asian Games. Argentina made it into the 2020 hockey competitions by virtue of winning the 2019 Pan-American Games.

Belgium qualified by winning the 2019 Euro Hockey Championship and South Africa qualified by winning the 2019 African Olympic qualifiers. Australia, meanwhile, made it to the prestigious event by winning the 2019 Oceania Cup.

Canada, Germany, India, Great Britain, Netherlands, New Zealand and Spain qualified via qualifiers which took place from 25th October-3rd November. 

Pool A 

Australia, Argentina, India, Spain, New Zealand, Japan 

Pool B 

Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Canada, South Africa. 

In the women’s section, Japan qualified for the Tokyo Olympics by the virtue of being the hosts and winning the gold at the 2018 Asian Games.

Australia, China, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Spain and India qualified via the qualifier route.

Argentina made into the event by winning the Pan American Games. South Africa won the African Olympic qualifiers played between 12th-18th August 2019. 

Netherlands and New Zealand made into the event with good performances in Euro Hockey Championships and Oceania Cup. 

Pool A 

Great Britain, Netherlands, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, India 

Pool B 

Australia, Argentina, New Zealand, China, Spain, Japan.

Featured image credits: Hindustan Times

Leave a Reply